Emergency Managers

Information for Emergency Managers

The development of an overall planning strategy is a target that is continually moving as communities grow and populations change. The California Governor's Office Of Emergency Services (Cal OES) has made available a number of different resources and guidance material for review as the preparedness process matures into a well organized plan. Cal OES is responsible for the coordination of emergency preparedness for the State of California and works cooperatively with all entities to ensure the protection and safety of the populace.

During the preparedness phase of emergency management, and as part of a comprehensive preparedness program, the emergency management community should develop plans and procedures to be implemented during an emergency.  Plans will need to be flexible and all encompassing that recognize all potential risks and exposures for the community, business, government agency, school, or hospital. Planning activities will vary by jurisdiction but should include the following: Communication, Early Warning, Shelters, Evacuation Plans, Resources and Inventory, Emergency Workers, Volunteers, Training, Access and Functional Needs population, Non Government Organizations, Multi-Agency Coordination.

Here are  "Twenty Five Questions for Emergency Managers" (pdf download)

What is PPD-8?  Presidential Program Directive 8 (PPD-8) is an update to Homeland Security Program Directive 8 (HSPD-8) which addresses National Preparedness.  HSPD-8 was created to establish policies to strengthen U.S. preparedness in order to prevent and respond to threatened or actual domestic terrorist attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies.  The directive required a national domestic all-hazards preparedness goal, with established mechanisms for improved delivery of Federal preparedness assistance to State and local governments. It also outlined actions to strengthen preparedness capabilities of federal, state, and local entities. 

PPD-8 calls for the development and maintenance of the National Preparedness Goal to define the core capabilities necessary to prepare for the specific types of incidents posing the greatest risk of security to the nation.  The National Preparedness Goal has been published that sets the vision for nationwide, whole community, preparedness and identifies the core capabilities and targets to achieve preparedness across the five mission areas provided in PPD-8: prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery.  The newly released National Disaster Recovery Framework provides additional information on the Recovery mission area.  The remaining frameworks were released for comment March 2012.

The six components of the National Preparedness System are:

  • Identifying and assessing risks;
  • Estimating capability requirements;
  • Building or sustaining  capabilities;
  • Developing and implementing plans to deliver those capabilities;
  • Validating and monitoring progress made towards achieving the National Preparedness Goal; and 
  • Reviewing and updating efforts as needed to promote continuous improvement.

What is HSPD-5?  Homeland Security Presidential Directive 5 established the National Incident Management System or NIMS.  The purpose of HSPD-5 serves to enhance the ability of the United States to manage domestic incidents by establishing a single, comprehensive national incident management system. This management system is designed to cover the prevention, preparation, response, and recovery from terrorist attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies. The implementation of such a system would allow all levels of government throughout the nation to work efficiently and effectively together. The directive gives further detail on which government officials oversee and have authority for various parts of the national incident management system, as well making several amendments to various other HSPDs.  For more information on NIMS in California, click here.